END OF THE SUNRISE DAY

RIGHT NOW I AM SAFE.

Relax, God is in charge.

“The best teachers have shown me that things have to be done bit by bit. Nothing that means anything happens quickly – we only think it does.”
Joseph Bruchac, ABENAKI

Its now quite late and I don’t even have TV on. Classic FM and peace. I am finding new places of the Spirit even though now and then I stumble or am dragged back into the straight world which I loathe. Now and then I add obligations which overwhelm me.  I just need to shake my head a little and clear it off the spider webs and dust mites.

I have had serenity for a week or more. When I first got sober , serenity was aspired for. it is spoken of less nowadays and I think that may be folly. Serenity is part of the Addict’s survival.

I shall just post this Facebook thingo which appeared in today’s memories from my daughter. Written 5 years ago and means a great deal to me.

NelliBell  is the best mother ever and 25 years ago her devotion to my brother and I was shown to us through an amazing act of courage on her behalf. Thank you Mum for having the strength and love for us to turn things around and give us a far better childhood than we might have had. I don’t ever forget what you did and I admire you for it. Love you Mum xxxxx

The strongest rebellion may be expressed in quiet, undramatic behavior.
Benjamin Spock

In recovery, we each rebel against our disease. Each day we fight for the freedom to stay close to our Higher Power, friends and family.

It’s mainly a quiet battle. It’s fought daily. We fight and win by acting in a spiritual way. We fight and win every time we help a friend, go to meetings, or read about how to improve our lives

We move slowly but always forward. Rushing will only tire us out. Our battle will go on for life.

Daily Inspiration
August 16

Becoming overwhelmed creeps up slowly, one commitment at a time. Lord, help me regain my time and sanity, accomplish my priorities without major setbacks, and have quiet time left to nurture my spirit.

Be patient with others, but mostly be patient with yourself. Lord, help me to keep a smile on my face and to realize my goodness and refuse to dwell on my imperfections.

Just For Today

August 16 
Up Or Down

“This is our road to spiritual growth. We change every day…. This growth is not the result of wishing but of action and prayer.”
Basic Text, p. 35-36

Our spiritual condition is never static; if it’s not growing, it’s decaying. If we stand still, our spiritual progress will lose its upward momentum. Gradually, our growth will slow, then halt, then reverse itself. Our tolerance will wear thin; our willingness to serve others will wane; our minds will narrow and close. Before long, we’ll be right back where we started: in conflict with everyone and everything around us, unable to bear even ourselves.

Our only option is to actively participate in our program of spiritual growth. We pray, seeking knowledge greater than our own from a Power greater than ourselves. We open our minds and keep them open, becoming teachable and taking advantage of what others have to share with us. We demonstrate our willingness to try new ideas and new ways of doing things, experiencing life in a whole new way. Our spiritual progress picks up speed and momentum, driven by the Higher Power we are coming to understand better each day.

Up or down – it’s one or the other, with very little in between, where spiritual growth is concerned. Recovery is not fueled by wishing and dreaming, we’ve discovered, but by prayer and action.

Just for today: The only constant in my spiritual condition is change. I cannot rely on yesterday’s program. Today, I seek new spiritual growth through prayer and action.

Elder’s Meditation of the Day August 16

“The best teachers have shown me that things have to be done bit by bit. Nothing that means anything happens quickly – we only think it does.”
–Joseph Bruchac, ABENAKI

There are no short cuts. Every tree must grow according to the growth plan of the Creator. Every flower must grow according to the plan of God. The moon must make its trip around the earth according to God’s plan. Every human being must grow according to the plan of the Creator.  Sometimes we look at ourselves and we think we are not growing but we are always growing. Because we cannot see it with our mind does not mean it is not happening. We must be patient with ourselves and let the Creator direct our growth.

My Creator, let me be patient. Let me realize that You are in charge of all things. Let me realize that I must grow my roots a little at a time to become strong.

One thought on “END OF THE SUNRISE DAY”

Leave a Reply

